REGULAR MEETING, BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

ROLETTE COUNTY DATE: February 6, 2024

The board convened at 9:00am, February 6, 2024 members Schlenvogt, Abrahamson, Mickelson, Poitra via Zoom.

Member LaRocque presiding. Also, Present Jamie Metcalfe, Mitch Slater, Cody Mattson, Nate Gustafson, Mark Allery, Kristen Hasbargen, Jason Coffey, Rhonda Allery, Tim Shirk, Wendy Belgarde.

The board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Mickelson, seconded by Schlenvogt to approve the agenda. On roll call vote, all members voted, "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mickelson, seconded by Abrahamson to Approve January 16, 2024 Minutes. On roll call vote, all members voted, "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

• Rolette Housing Contract

Motion by Abrahamson

Motion: \$200.00 a month starting January 1, 2024. 2 Year Lease Agreement, County would continue paying for Insurance on Building, Lawn Care, Snow Removal. Rolette County has the option to rent out the empty offices not utilized by Rolette County Housing. Seconded by Schlenvogt.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

• Rolette Housing Board Members

Letters of Recommendation from:

- Tim Shirk
- Becky Leonard
- Rusty Cain

Motion by Schlenvogt

Motion: Reappoint Becky Leonard to 5-year term. Seconded by Poitra.

On roll call vote, Schlenvogt Yes, Abrahamson Yes, Mickelson Yes, Poitra Yes, LaRocque No. Motion carried.

- Precinct Naming, Polling Locations, City Agreements
 - Motion by Schlenvogt

Motion: Utilize Precincts as presented. Seconded by Abrahamson

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Abrahamson

Motion: To move back to the Derrick Dixon Event Center. Seconded by Mickelson.

On roll call vote, Schlenvogt – Yes, Abrahamson – Yes, Mickelson – Yes, Poitra – No, LaRocque – Yes. Motion carried.

Motion by Mickelson

Motion: To approve the contracts and to include the Belcourt school district for the voting locations with the adjustment of the no cost to the Belcourt School District.

On roll call vote, Schlenvogt – Yes, Abrahamson – Yes, Mickelson – Yes, Poitra – No, LaRocque – Yes. Motion carried.

• Butler Bill

Motion by Schlenvogt.

Motion: Pay 1 Blade out of AARP Fund (\$35,9000.00), 1 Blade out of Road Department Budget (&350000.00). Seconded by Abrahamson.

On roll call vote, Schlenvogt – Yes, Abrahamson – Yes, Mickelson – Yes, Poitra – No Answer, LaRocque – Yes. Motion carried.

• Mountain Lake Zone – Indirect Costs.

Rhonda Allery, Jason Coffey, Kirsten Hasbargen met with the board to discuss the Indirect Costs for the Social Services Department.

- Cody Mattson Grants
 - Siren Grant

Motion by Mickelson

Motion: Pay in full with ARPA Funds \$5405.79. Seconded by Abrahamson.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

New Servers

Motion by Abrahamson

Motion: To accept grant, pay in full with ARPA (Tyler Tech Budget) \$7269.84. Seconded by Schlenvogt.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

• Road Report – Mark Allery

Fence Lines should be at least 33ft from Center.

Machines only need to be idling for 30 minutes top.

Motion by Abrahamson

Motion: Order Cutting Edges 4 sets. Seconded by Schlenvogt.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

- Abatements Wendy Belgarde
 - o George Patton Remove 2023 Special Rolette
 - Barbara Martell 2023 100% HC Couture
 - Barbara Martell 2022 100% HC Couture
 - Rolette Co Hist Soc 2023 Exempt Status Dunseith
 - Lois Wood Remove 2024, 2023 MH Tax Take off tax roll St. John
 - Murl Hill Trust 2023 Duplicate Assessments Currie
 - o Ida Nadeau 2023 100% HC Hillside
 - Ross & Peggy McDougall 2023 HC Mt. Pleasant

Motion by Schlenvogt

Motion: Approve Abatements as presented. Seconded by Abrahamson.

On roll call vote, all members vote "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

• Sheriff's Report – Nathan Gustafson, Mitch Slater, Jamie Metcalfe

One of the Sheriff's Vehicles were totaled while on pursuit. Insurance has paid claim. Receive quote from Munro Motor Company for Replacement Vehicle.

Motion by Abrahamson

Motion: To go ahead and purchase new vehicle with Insurance Funds/Sheriff's Car Budget. Seconded by Poitra. On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

✤ Accurate Control Bill

Motion by Abrahamson

Motion: Approve bill with AARP funds. Seconded by Mickelson.

On roll call vote, Abrahamson – Yes, Mickelson – Yes, Poitra – No Answer, LaRocque – Yes. Motion carried.

• Putting Deputy Auditor/Deputy Treasure on Bank Ledgers

Motion by Mickelson

Motion: Approval for Deputy Auditor – Lisa Tackett, and Deputy Treasurer – Ronette Nielsen Signatures on Bank Ledgers. Seconded by Abrahamson.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

- Season Liquor License
 - Keplin Art & Entertainment LLC

Motion by Mickelson

Motion: Approval of application for Seasonal Liquor License. Seconded by Abrahamson.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

• Johnson Control Proposal

Court Room pump is out, will need to be replaced. Get quotes from Tuomala Plumbing & Heating and Stacy Wilkie.

• January 16, 2024 Minutes.

Motion by Mickelson

Motion: Approved the January 16, 2024 Minutes. Seconded by Abrahamson.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

• Bills

Motion by Abrahamson

Motion: Approval to pay all bills present. Seconded by Mickelson.

On roll call vote, all members voted "AYE". Motion carried unanimously.

• Meeting adjourned.

Motion by Mickelson, seconded by Abrahamson, and unanimously approved by the board. Meeting adjourned.

> Henry LaRocque Chairman, Board of County Commissioners Rolette County, North Dakota

ATTEST

Lisa Tackett Rolette County Deputy Auditor